To improve the quality of life of our clients through the promotion of wellness and efficient collaborative Health Services Management focused on the needs of the population.


To provide quality, safe and cost effective health services to the communities we serve through   motivated staff and partnerships with relevant stakeholders.

Core Values

Integrity /
Commitment to
Respect for
Human Dignity
Cooperation /


In an effort in improve the quality of service within our local health industry, the Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago decentralized it’s health services into 5 Regional Health Authorities (RHAs).This initiative divided the health sector into autonomous bodies designed to carry out the vision of its Board of Directors and by extension the Government, for and on behalf of the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago.

The NCRHA was formed in August 2004 by an amendment to the RHA Act No. 5 of 1994 of Parliament and its first Board of Directors was established in December of 2004. The NCRHA assumed managerial responsibility from the North West Regional Health Authority (NWRHA) from July 1st 2005 and the Chief Executive Officer was appointed in August of 2005. Though the it is the youngest of the RHAs, it is instructive to note that the NCRHA has undergone three (3) evolutions of what was originally the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex (EWMSC) Authority (1990).  It was expanded in 1994 to become the Central Regional Health Authority. Subsequently, it was merged with the former, smaller NWRHA to become a larger NWRHA. This entity was once again disaggregated to become the existing NCRHA.

The NCRHA is the parent entity governing the Primary Healthcare Clusters of Arima, Chaguanas and St. Joseph. The Secondary Care Facilities of the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex (EWMSC), Mt. Hope Women’s Hospital (MHWH) and the Caura Hospital

(CH) are also under the purview of the NCHRA. The NCRHA’s Head Office is located at Building 39, Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, Uriah Butler Highway, ChampsFleurs. This building houses some of the core administrative support services for the delivery of healthcare inclusive of Human Resources and Finance. Additionally, the Complex houses the Dental School, the Veterinary School and the School of Pharmacy which are all operated in collaboration with the University of the West Indies. Two of our hospitals, the EWMSC and the MHWH are tertiary institutions that facilitate teaching and training. At the EWMSC, Secondary and Tertiary care services are provided. The Region also provides National Services in Gynecology, Obstetrics and Neonatal Intensive Care, Thoracic Care and Paediatric Care.

In 2005, EWMSC, the main institution of the NCRHA, was mandated to offer its services free of charge. Since then, there has been a sharp escalation in the number of patients seeking medical attention at our facilities.

The estimated catchment population of the NCRHAis 351,137(CSO 2011) which is sustained by the proliferation of residential communities within the area… However, this figure may actually be larger due to the array of subspecialty services that are provided, solely by the NCRHA, to the population of Trinidad and Tobago.